Universities: 2018 TEF Awards

Universities: 2018 TEF Awards


Results of this year’s Teaching Excellence Framework (TEF) have been published. The framework was introduced by the Government last year to help students who are thinking about applying to university or college, make informed choices about degree courses.

296 universities, colleges and alternative providers of higher education have taken part in the TEF.  Each of which were rated gold, silver or bronze, or received a provisional award (where there is not enough data for a full assessment).

73 of these were rated gold, 134 silver, and 62 bronze. A further 27 universities and colleges have a rating of provisional.

The TEF awards are decided by an independent panel of experts comprising students and academics. Drawing on national data combined with evidence submitted by each university or college, the TEF measures excellence in three areas: teaching quality, the learning environment, and the educational and professional outcomes achieved by students.

The TEF awards will also be published on Unistats and the UCAS website, alongside other information, to help inform prospective students’ choices.

A full list of ratings can be viewed here.


Thursday, 21 June 2018

Share this article

Any questions? Any comments?

Your instant reactions to this article can be posted here.

Be the first to make a comment...