National Apprenticeship Awards 2018 launched


The National Apprenticeship Awards 2018 have been launched, with the application site now open for entries.

Now in their fifteenth year, the awards celebrate England’s top apprenticeship employers and apprentices, as well as recognising those individuals that make a significant contribution to apprenticeships.

Reflecting the development of the apprenticeships landscape and following consultation with a number of leading organisations in the field, several changes to the Awards have been made. The refreshed 2018 awards will showcase employer excellence in widening access to, and championing, apprenticeships as well as celebrating how apprenticeships offer a career path to the top for individuals. 

New categories include the Recruitment Excellence Award, recognising employers who have attracted a diverse and high-quality apprenticeship workforce through new and innovative approaches to recruitment. In addition, the National Apprenticeship Service will identify one individual winner to receive a Recognition Award, to reward someone who has made a special contribution to the promotion and delivery of apprenticeships.

For the first time, a Rising Star category will showcase apprentices who have made impressive progress in their career to date and who show the potential, through their apprenticeship, to take a career path to the very top of their chosen profession. Nominated by their employers, at the national stage of the awards the public will be invited to vote on the overall winner for this category.  

Apprentice employers and apprentices from all industries are invited to enter the awards. Judged by a team of experts, entrants have the opportunity to be crowned a regional winner at nine awards ceremonies set to take place across the country. From the regional champions, a national judging panel will select the overall National Apprenticeship Award winners, to be celebrated at a national ceremony on 28 November 2018.

Employer of the Year categories:

  • SME of the Year: 1 – 249 employees
  • Large Employer of the Year: 250 – 4,999 employees
  • Macro Employer of the Year: 5,000+ employees  
  • The Recruitment Excellence Award: new for 2018, the winner will be selected from the Employer of the Year award entries                         

Apprentice of the Year categories:

  • Intermediate Level (level 2)    
  • Advanced Level (level 3)
  • Higher or Degree Level (level 4 or higher)

Special recognition categories:

  • Rising Star Award:  new for 2018, recognises apprentices that have made impressive progress in their career to date, and have the potential to go even further
  • Recognition Award: new for 2018, awarded to an individual who has made a special contribution to the promotion and delivery of apprenticeships – to be selected by the National Apprenticeship Service
  • Apprenticeship Champion of the Year: recognises individuals who go ‘above and beyond’ to champion apprenticeships

The deadline for award entries is Friday 25 May. Regional finalists will be announced in mid-July, with regional finals taking place in September – and the national awards in November.

Wednesday, 18 April 2018

Share this article

Any questions? Any comments?

Your instant reactions to this article can be posted here. Use your own name or a nom de plume.

Be the first to make a comment...

Please log in to make a comment

Already registered?

Haven't registered?

Register for FREE - it only takes a couple of minutes

Not registered? Click here.

National Apprenticeship Awards 2018 launched
  • Latest jobs
  • Find out how to place an ad here Media Job Read more >>